## Borough of East Washington DRAFT Council Meeting Monday February 15, 2021 7:00 pm

Join Zoom Meeting

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/2460408902?pwd=aStaL3E2bEtHSitYWGNYUVhMQjk1UT09

Meeting ID: 246 040 8902 Passcode: ewboro Audio Only: +1 646 558 8656 US (New York Meeting ID: 246 040 8902 Passcode: 800043

## To unmute yourself you need to type in \*6

Call to Order Pledge Roll Call

Michael Gomber, Mayor Maryann Weinstein, President Kent James, Vice President Kristopher LaGreca, Council Member David Bradley, Chief of Police - Absent

Douglas Corwin, Council Member Daniel Bird, Council Member Demond Nixon, Council Member Arthur J. Fulton, Council Member Aaron Lucero, Supervisor, P. Works Dennis Makel, Solicitor Rich Rush, Engineer- Absent Reca Panian, Chair, Park & Shade-Absent Gerald Coleman, Code Officer-Absent Sandy Motichak, Sec-Treas.

**<u>Public Comment</u>** – Any person from the public may speak for a 3-minute period. Total time allotted for public comment is 15 minutes. Please state your name, address and subject. Please choose a representative to speak if you have the same concern.

Ray and Sandy Dunlevy - listening only

Guest Speaker – Ross Harr, Keystone Collections. Answered Council members questions regarding Keystone collecting Real Estate Taxes for the borough.

## Action Items / Discussion:

Council members discussed the Tax Collector position and compensation. Solicitor Makel provided a legal opinion and information from the PA State Association of Boroughs to council via email prior to the meeting. Of concern was to replace the Tax Collector with a Deputy Tax Collector, i.e., a Tax Service because the position is an elected position. A deputy tax collector is authorized only when the elected tax collector is incapacitated. The motion below addresses the compensation of the Tax Collector only.

1. Motion Demond Nixon, second Kris LaGreca to adopt a resolution dated today February 15, 2021 to set the compensation for the Borough real estate tax collector at \$1.50 per tax duplicate, plus actual postage, and December 1 late notice at \$0.50 per piece, plus actual postage.

Roll Call Vote:

Arthur Fulton, Council Member-Y Maryann Weinstein, President-Y Demond Nixon, Council Member-Y Douglas Corwin, Council Member-N Kent James, Vice President-Y Kris LaGreca, Council Member-Y Dan Bird, Council Member-Abstain due to legality 5 Yes, 1 No, 1 Abstain. Motion passed.

2. Procedure to respond to emails addressed to council. Joe Fulton suggested that one member of the communications committee respond to any resident complaint received and then forward complaint to the appropriate department to handle the complaint.

Motion Dan Bird, second Joe Fulton to adjourn meeting at 9:30 pm.