Borough of East Washington RE-Organization Council Meeting Monday, January 3, 2022 – 6.00 pm AGENDA

Judge John F. DiSalle will administer the oath (s)

Newly elected Mayor, Matthew Boice Mayor, Matthew Boice presides

Newly Elected Council Members
Maryann Weinstein, Michael McCormick, and Demond Nixon

Mayor, Matthew Boice presides

Call to Order Roll Call Pledge of Allegiance

- ➤ Nomination and Election of Council President (Mayor)
 - **Nominations**
- > Motion/second to appoint as President
- Nomination and Election of Vice President (Mayor) Nominations
- > Motion/second to appoint as Vice President

(Upon completion, Mayor turns the gavel over to the President) NEWLY ELECTED PRESIDENT THEN CONDUCTS THE REST OF THE MEETING (S)

Nomination and Election of President Pro Temp
 Nominations
 Motion/second to appoint as President Pro Temp

Appointment of Vacancy Board Chair- Resident of Borough, Not elected (need 1)
 Nominations

 Motion/second to appoint as Vacancy Board Chair

Other Appointments (Motion to appoint)

- > Motion/second to appoint Secretary/Treasurer Mrs. Sandy Motichak
- > Motion/second to appoint Public Works Supervisor-Mr. Aaron Lucero
- > Motion/second to appoint Code Enforcement-Zoning Officer Mr. Gerald Coleman
- ➤ **Motion/second** to appoint Police Chief Mr. David Bradley
- ➤ **Motion/second** to appoint Emergency Management Coordinator Mr. Gerald Coleman
- > Motion/second to appoint Solicitor- Mr. Dennis Makel
- > Motion/second to appoint borough Engineer Harshman Group, LLC
- ➤ **Motion/second** to appoint Auditor Palermo/Kissinger

Borough of East Washington RE-Organization Council Meeting Monday, January 3, 2022 – 6.00 pm AGENDA

- > Motion/second to appoint Uniform Code Construction Inspectors Harshman Group, LLC.
- > Motion/second to appoint Depository Bank Washington Financial

Committee assignments (Motion to appoint)

- ➤ **Motion/second** to appoint Members of the **Planning Commission**, Mike Robinson, Stan Myers, Ray Dunlevy, (6 members) (need 3)
- Motion/second to appoint Members of the Zoning Hearing Board, (3 members) Tom Shade, Chairman, (need 2)
- Motion/second to appoint Members of the Park & Shade Commission, Chairman, Reca Panian (8 members) (need 2) Diane Hickman, Debbie Smith, (appoint these new members, term end 2024)
- Motion/second to appoint Members of the Board of Code Enforcement Appeals Tom Vreeland, Chairman, (3 members) (need 2)

Motion/second to approve to Set Regular Meetings – 1st Monday of the month at 7:00 pm. (exceptions due to the Holiday, the meeting will be on July 11, 2022, and September 12, 2022)

Regular meeting to begin



<u>Public Comment</u> – Any person from the public may speak for a 3-minute period and total allotted time for the public to talk is only 15 minutes and no more. Please state your name, address, and subject. Please choose a representative to speak if you have the same concern.

Motion/second to approve Minutes December 6, 2021.

Motion/second to approve Bills, Gen Account \$30,462.85 (Check 7378 to 7407), PLGIT \$16,649.03 (Check No. 990, Final Loader Pmt.) and ACT 13 Impact Fees \$8,670.00 (Check No. 1006, TESLA Light pkg and delivery)

Motion/second to enter **Executive Session** at pm for negotiations and Personnel Reasons.

Action Items/Discussion:

- 1. Motion/second to approve Resolution 001 of 2022 Schedule of Fees
- 2. **Motion/second** to approve **Resolution 002 of 2022 allocate funds** \$ 12,500-from Local Share Fund for future Police Car
- Motion/second to approve Resolution 003 of 2022 appoint Vice President and Secretary-Treasurer as delegates to serve on the Washington County Tax Collection Committee.

Borough of East Washington RE-Organization Council Meeting Monday, January 3, 2022 – 6.00 pm AGENDA

- 4. **Motion/second** to approve **Resolution 004 of 2022** match funds for Freedom Transit in the amount of \$500.00
- 5. **Motion/second** to approve **Resolution 005 of 2022 Fire Protection Agreement** with the City of Washington and East Washington Borough
- 6. **Motion/second** to appoint Carol Schilinski as Deputy Tax Collector.
- 7. Discussion Proposed use of borough building as tax collector office.
- 8. Discussion Security Camera cost of wiring.

Mayor - Matthew Boice

Solicitor - Dennis Makel

<u>Council Members – Reports/Discussion</u>

Daniel Bird Douglas Corwin Joe Fulton Demond Nixon Kent James Michael McCormick Maryann Weinstein

Motion to adjourn