Borough of East Washington RE-Organization Council Meeting Minutes Monday, January 3, 2022 – 6.00 pm

Join Zoom Meeting

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/2460408902?pwd=aStaL3E2bEtHSitYWGNYUVhMQjk1UT09

Meeting ID: 246 040 8902 **Audio Only:**

Passcode: ewboro +1 646 558 8656 US (New York Meeting ID: 246 040 8902

Passcode: 800043

To unmute yourself you need to type in *6

Judge John F. DiSalle administered the oath (s) at 6:10 pm for:

Newly elected Mayor, Matthew Boice

Newly Elected Council Members Michael McCormick, and Demond Nixon Maryann Weinstein was sworn in earlier in the day Newly Elected Tax Collector, Dawn Petrosky

Mayor, Matthew Boice presides

Call to Order Pledge of Allegiance Roll Call

Matt Boice, Mayor Marvann Weinstein, President Kent James, Vice President Demond Nixon, Council Member

Douglas Corwin, Council Member Daniel Bird, Council Member Arthur J. Fulton, Council Member Michael McCormick, Council Member David Bradley, Chief of Police Absent Aaron Lucero, Supervisor, P. Works

Megan Patrick for Dennis Makel, Solicitor Rich Rush, Engineer Absent Reca Panian, Chair, Park & Shade Absent Sandy Motichak, Sec-Treas Gerald Coleman, Code Officer

Mayor Matthew Boice invited nominations for the office of President of Council.

On motion by Kent James, seconded by Joe Fulton and carried 6 yes-1 no vote Maryann Weinstein was elected to the office of President of Council. Dan Bird No.

Mayor Matthew Boice invited nominations for the office of Vice President of Council.

On motion by Dan Bird, seconded by Maryann Weinstein and carried unanimously **Douglas Corwin** was elected to the office of Vice President of Council.

Newly elected President Maryann Weinstein presides over the meeting.

President Maryann Weinstein invited nominations for the office of **President Pro Temp**. On a motion by Michael McCormick, seconded by Joe Fulton and carried unanimously Kent James was elected to President Pro Temp.

President Maryann Weinstein invited nominations for the office of Vacancy Board Chair. (Not elected) On a motion by Demond Nixon, seconded by Joe Fulton and carried unanimously Kris LaGreca was elected to Vacancy Board Chair.

Other Appointments (Motion to appoint)

1. On a motion by Kent James, seconded by Demond Nixon Mrs. Sandy Motichak was appointed to **Secretary/Treasurer**. Passed by unanimous vote

Borough of East Washington RE-Organization Council Meeting Minutes Monday, January 3, 2022 – 6.00 pm

- 2. On a motion made by Demond Nixon. seconded by Doug Corwin **Mr. Aaron Lucero** was appointed to **Public Works Supervisor.** Passed by unanimous vote
- 3. On a motion by Doug Corwin, seconded by Demond Nixon **Mr. Gerald Coleman** was appointed to **Code Enforcement, Building Code Official, Zoning Officer**. Passed by unanimous vote
- 4. On a motion by Demond Nixon, seconded by Dan Bird **Mr. David Bradley** was appointed to **Police Chief**. Passed by unanimous vote
- 5. On a motion by Dan Bird, seconded by Demond Nixon **Mr. Gerald Coleman** was appointed to **Emergency Management Coordinator**. Passed by unanimous vote
- 6. On a motion by Kent James, seconded by Demond Nixon **Mr. Dennis Makel** was appointed to **Solicitor.** Passed by unanimous vote
- 7. On a motion by Dan Bird, seconded by Kent James **Harshman Group, LLC** was appointed to **Engineer.** Passed by unanimous vote
- 8. On a motion by Doug Corwin. seconded by Kent James **Palermo/Kissinger** was appointed to **Auditor.** Passed by unanimous vote
- 9. On a motion by Dan Bird, seconded by Kent James **Harshman Group, LLC** was appointed to **Uniform Construction Inspectors.** Passed 5 yes votes. Michael McCormick Abstain
- 10. On a motion by Dan Bird, seconded by Demond Nixon **Washington Financial** was appointed to **Depository Bank.** Passed by unanimous vote.

Committee assignments (Motion to appoint)

- 11. On a motion made by Doug Corwin, seconded by Maryann Weinstein to appoint Members of the **Planning Commission**, Mike Robinson, Stan Myers, Ray Dunlevy, (6 members) as listed. Passed by unanimous vote
- 12. On a motion made by Kent James, seconded by Dough Corwin to appoint Members of the **Zoning Hearing Board**, (3 members) Tom Shade, Chairman. (3 members) Passed by unanimous vote
- 13. On a motion made by Michael McCormick seconded by Joe Fulton to appoint Members of the **Park & Shade Commission**, Chairman, Reca Panian (8)members).

On a motion made by Michael McCormick, seconded by Joe Fulton to rescind previous motion and appoint members of the Park and Shade commission when the number of members on the commission is confirmed. Motion passed.

14. On a motion made by Kent James, seconded by Doug Corwin to appoint Members of the **Board of Code Enforcement Appeals Tom Vreeland, Chairman,** (3 members) Passed by unanimous vote

A motion was made by Dan Bird, seconded by Demond Nixon to Set Regular Meetings -1st Monday of the month at 7:00 pm. (exceptions due to the Holiday, the meeting will be on July 11, 2022, and September 12, 2022) Passed by unanimous vote

Borough of East Washington RE-Organization Council Meeting Minutes Monday, January 3, 2022 – 6.00 pm

Monday, January 3, 2022 – 6.00 pm

On a motion made by Dan Bird, seconded by Demond Nixon and carried by unanimous vote the meeting was adjourned at 6:43 pm.